jump to navigation

OH WHAT A WONDERFUL SAIL November 10, 2008

Posted by sailingnightwatch in Durbeck, FL, Florida, ICW, Pensacola, Repairs, Sailing, Sailing the ICW.
trackback

The fall Blues Show is this coming weekend and we are to have one of my many sister-in laws, her husband their daughter and her husband. I could not pick a better group to spend a weekend with.

The wife decided we would have to make the boat look like it just was christened. Therefore, after the yard and being auto racing last weekend, I was looking forward to sailing. We split the difference. She got Saturday and I got Sunday for an afternoon sail. This was all right because Saturday the wind did not start untill about 2:30 in the afternoon. With my having refinished the saloon in the yard, I had not had a chance to do the ladder. That was Saturday’s project.

Sunday there was not a cloud to be found. The wind was around 10 knots out of the N to WNW. I needed to get fuel and therefore sailed west to Pensacola Bay. We got underway around 11 A.M. with the wind as mentioned. The wife continued her domestic chores which allow me to tack towards the bay by myself. After about 4 tacks, I was at the bridge. I was also exhausted. Having to winch in both the staysail and genny on each tack can do in us old sailors. By the time I got into the bay the wind had picked up to a good 15 kts. That is when this boat starts to reach her stride. And with a clean bottom, what more is there to ask for. Life is good.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

