jump to navigation

AUTOPILOT AND OTHER STUFF January 9, 2009

Posted by sailingnightwatch in Durbeck, FL, Florida, ICW, Pensacola, Repairs, Restoration, Sailing, Sailing the ICW.
trackback

I am so good at making decisions. I still think I will get the autopilot this year but now I am leaning toward Furuno. In fact I am leaning toward all the electronics being Furuno. I have also spent time researching wind generators, diesel generators and watermakers.

With wind generators there seems to be a big trade off between power and noise. Prices also vary considerably. Some of this is because of the value of the dollar.

Watermakers are more technologically driven. Certain makes of parts are of more value then others, and many of the units have similar parts. That does not seem to influence price.

All of these systems are further out for purchase. I do like to keep track of current pricing since my fix the boat fund does have a bottom. And that bottom has been negatively impacted by the stock market this year.

It will soon be time to time to revisit the prices for autopilots.

Comments»

1. Chris - January 12, 2009

Hello sailingnightwatch!

My name is Chris and I’m a student at the University of Florida. My roommate and I just bought our first sailboat: a 26′ 1970 Durbeck. I was wondering what your experience with your boat was and if you know anything about the manufacturer. Any other advice or suggestions would be greatly appreciated. Beautiful boat by the way!

Cruise safe : )

sailingnightwatch - January 12, 2009

Hi Chris
Congrats on the new boat. I did not know Durbeck made a boat below 36 feet. They were produced in Bradenton FL. The company went out of business in the early 70’s when the Carter admin passed the luxury tax law. Drove out many boat builders and small aircraft manufacturers. The boats were very heavy built, full keel cruisers. They also built Trawlers. In fact I believe they built more trawlers then sail boats, but could be wrong on that. As for sail, they built the 46 footer as a ketch or schooner. They built 4-50 footers which were the 46 cut at the main bulkhead at the forward end of the cockpit and adding 4 feet to the hull. Near the end of the company they built the 36 foot sloop. Very few of those were completed and I believe you may be able to still buy some of the unfinished hulls. The 46 and 50’s were one-off-built and were either finished by Durbeck or taken to others to be finished. The quality of the workmanship varried significantly.

My boat was the boat show boat in 1979 and most of the adds that used a Durbeck are of this boat. In the early part of my blog you can read about many of the project that were done during restoration. I have published many pictures of the boat and they are now showing up in sales promotions done by brokers.

If you have any questions feel free to contact me at ralph@ralphknoerr.com


Leave a Reply

