jump to navigation

THE ROUND PORT July 24, 2009

Posted by sailingnightwatch in Durbeck, FL, Florida, ICW, Pensacola, Repairs, Restoration, Sailing, Sailing the ICW.
trackback

If you recall, I started this project a few weeks back. Well after soaking the pin down with WD-40 and other penetrating oils, I took the trusty Dremel and cut the pin off on the inside part of the hinge of the port. It was made of aluminum and I had a piece of round aluminum stock the same size, so just made a new pin. Works like a charm.

As mentioned in an earlier segment, the glass seemed to be held in by a ring that screwed into the frame. Wrong. It had a notch that allowed it to spring against the frame. To get it out I had to knock out the glass and pry it out. Then I had to clean out the 30+ year old calk. This turned out to be an all day project.

My dock lord’s boat has ports made from Lexan. He had a small piece left over replacing his ports and suggested I give it a try. After paying a fortune for high strength glass, I was ready. My only complaint about Lexan is that it scratches easily, and will become etched from many chemicals. I have a door on my main hatch made of Lexan and it has the imprint of a leg from a guest that had lots of sun screen on. Thank goodness she had a nice looking calf. At least Lexan cuts easy.

It is installed and looks so good that my wife wants the other round port light replaced. Thank goodness I do not have any Lexon left.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

