jump to navigation

ELECTRIC POWER July 31, 2009

Posted by sailingnightwatch in Durbeck, FL, Florida, ICW, Pensacola, Repairs, Restoration, Sailing, Sailing the ICW.
trackback

My mechanic showed up the other day with the bill for cleaning out the heat exchanger. We talked about two things I need to do in the short run. First was to get a new light/horn for my instruments. The light died several years ago and the horn died for good last year. The old cost of this little circuit was ridicules and therefore I did not replace it. Well he said he would get me one for 1/4th the price. That I can do.

The second is a new alternator, and using my old one as a spare. I have a spare that puts out about 40 amps. After it warms up, it puts out about 10 amps. With 480 amp of house batteries, I would run out of fuel before getting recharged. My current alternator, when it warms up puts out about 40 amps. At least it is covering more then normal cruising usage. It would still take 8 hours to catch up to two days of usage. I know, I use to much electricity. It’s the refer. Stand up type, like you would find in an apartment. The lady of the boat loves it. End discussion.

My mechanic has a real hatered for a major brand of high energy charging. My previous mechanic felt the same way. I only have only had first hand experience through one friend and his experience was very expensive and not satisfactory. Therefore I now have a new 108 amp Delco alternator. I need to talk to my mechanic on how to wire it up and then we will give it a try. More to come.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

