jump to navigation

WHERE IS IT COMING FROM August 21, 2009

Posted by sailingnightwatch in Durbeck, FL, Florida, ICW, Pensacola, Repairs, Restoration, Sailing, Sailing the ICW.
trackback

Beats me. The water in the forward compartment. At first I thought that one of the connections to the new wash down system were not tight enough. When we were at the Wharf when I had everything out and had pumped out the water and dried everything off, I checked the connections. Tight. I took a paper towel and wiped around all the connections. Dry. We ran the wash down system, turning the hose on and off to build up pressure. Nothing. We ran the hose for several minutes. Nothing.

Saturday night/ Sunday morning we had at least 2 inches of rain. Nothing. Monday when we were back at our slip I removed the anchor line, checked that the anchor locker drain was clear. No problems. The forward stateroom air handler has a drain that passes through a locker and then into the anchor locker. Clear, running fine and the locker the line passes through is dry.

It is now Friday. I just checked the lockers again. Dry. There is only one conclusion. The boat has a poltergeist. That is not to bad, it leaves us alone. I just have to either start buying it diapers or figure out how to house break it.

One thing I noticed during installing the pump and associated fittings. They do not leave room on the new hose barbs for two good hose clamps to fit properly. I know they do make skinny SS clamps, but this old man can easily tear them apart with a screw driver, let alone a small socket. I hope somewhere between the manufactures and their association and the insurance industry, they develop a solution to this problem. My stock of old hose barb fitting is running out and I have not seen the old style recently in the marine supply stores.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

