jump to navigation

OOOHHHHH, I GOT TO GO SAILING February 3, 2010

Posted by sailingnightwatch in Durbeck, FL, Florida, ICW, Pensacola, Repairs, Restoration, Sailing, Sailing the ICW.
trackback

And it was gooooood! Went out with my friend and his Gemini 105. He had broke his foot before Christmas and been grounded. He was finely ready to go sailing and had asked me out a week ago, but I had to work. Not this week. We left about noon with very light wind from the north. He wanted to get his engine up to full warm, since it has been setting for a few months. We did that by chasing little puffs of wind around the sound. By 1 P.M. the wind started to shift to the SE at about 4 kts. Hey, this boat sails well with 4 kts. On my boat if I am real careful on the helm I can get and maintain steerage. If I hit an eddie or slight wind shift, Mother Nature takes control. The forecast was for 10 kts out of the south. It ever so slowly started to build, first from the SE than from the NE. Somehow we got our tacks crossed up and did well going north and south in a sound that runs east and west. But we were sailing.

The wind did fill in to about 8 kts out of the south around 3 P.M. That was the time we had to start in so I could go to work. I have not figured out how these little part time jobs I get manage to fall right in the middle of my sailing time. Almost as bad, because I was going to work, I deferred on a docking beer. That’s pushing the limits.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

