jump to navigation

SEA TRIAL February 22, 2010

Posted by sailingnightwatch in Durbeck, FL, Florida, ICW, Pensacola, Repairs, Restoration, Sailing, Sailing the ICW.
trackback

Yes, there is water in the canal. Well, there is always water in the canal, but sometimes not enough for me. I read the books on the new auto pilot and the compass that goes with it. I figure this was going to take several hours to correct the 40 degree error in the compass. Oh how far behind one is to modern technology. By the time I get into open water, the tech is ready, sitting in the cockpit like a comfortable guest. He asked if I was ready and I check around and insured we were the only boat on the sound and told the tech to proceed. He told me to have the boat go as slow as possible and take my hand off the wheel. He pushed a button and relaxed. The boat made one big circle and returned control to me. That was nice. I remember Hale in the movie 2001. The tech said go east and check my heading. Perfect. He said go south and check my heading. Perfect. He was done.

Then it was my time. There are certain things I try to do with the plotter that I do not get right and it does not do what I want. Here beside me is the guy who knows how this thing works. A few questions and some instructions and I have increased my operating knowledge 200%. Then we head back to the dock. Not bad for an hour of boating.

Know I have to go out for an actual sail and play with all this new interfacing I have. I do not work tomorrow, maybe…, sounds like a plan. I have to get someone to sail the boat while I play with my toys. Not a problem.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

