jump to navigation

INTERESTING WEATHER February 20, 2012

Posted by sailingnightwatch in Durbeck, FL, Florida, ICW, Pensacola, Repairs, Restoration, Sailing, Sailing the ICW.
trackback

Why does one listen to the weather forecasts.  We were to have a Gale on Saturday that was going to have winds at gale force till noon Sunday.  Sunday was the beach parade that I wanted to take my granddaughter to see.  Saturday was rainy and at times blustery, but no gale.  When I got up around 6:30 Sunday morning, the water was like glass.  The forecast?  They did not change.  Winds gusting to 40 before noon, then dieing to 35 in the afternoon.  The wind was a little chilly, but again, no gale. 

I am in a nice secure slip.  It would not be wise to vacate that slip for a lee shore anchorage, and then leave your home to its own during a gale.  I canceled.  The wind at my slip did reach 7 knots, with a gust of 17.  I missed the parade. I missed catching beads and moon pies with the grandkid.  Next year.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

