jump to navigation

NEW DINGHY April 2, 2012

Posted by sailingnightwatch in Durbeck, FL, Florida, ICW, Pensacola, Repairs, Restoration, Sailing, Sailing the ICW.
trackback

Yep, I did it. Got an 9’-6” AB dinghy and a Tohatsu 9.8 hp motor. I have been out riding around going through the break-in process. Tried to get out into the sound yesterday afternoon to do some of the < ½ throttle time, but it was to rough. Therefore, I went out between laundry loads this morning and ran for about an hour. Not much wind but a little chop that would keep your belle shaking. Might even shake some away.

Everything works good with the exception on an occasional dieing. They mention that it may happen with a new motor and gas tank. They say to clean the fuel line intake and the fuel filter. Oh the joys of an outboard motor. When I got back, I tried the oars. My neighbor who has a 10’-6” AB said the oars are worthless. He is right. I can not think of what it would be like rowing against a tide and strong wind. Those oars would not get the job done.

One other problem is clearing the round part of Nightwatch’s stern. I am still trying to design something that will take care of that problem. In the meantime I am using an old oar to let it slide up past the transom. The mate says the oar has got to go. No argument there.

I feel good about this purchase. I got a good deal on the motor, and there are no good deals on a new top rated rib.

Anybody want to buy an 8' "DINK" sailing dinghy?

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

