jump to navigation

A WEEKEND TO PREPARE FOR RACING July 23, 2012

Posted by sailingnightwatch in Durbeck, FL, Florida, ICW, Pensacola, Racing, Repairs, Restoration, Sailing, Sailing the ICW.
trackback

Friday was rainy. What else is new. It is good; we were in a drought as with most of the country. We are now out of it. Hope it was soon enough for the farmers. Saturday was a little better, especially in the afternoon. Got the dinghy in and took the mate for a ride.

Sunday was prep time. My son has been invited to drive in a 12 hour race in Japan. He invited me along. This is a chance in a life time, so I am going. My wife is concerned about a hurricane while I am gone. I am also one of the people who help get 3 boats ready for a storm. I had to recruit a stand in and do some prep of my boat. Basically taking off the sails. That is a several hour 2 person project. That is like payback for having all sails be roller furling. Sunday the weather was clear and hot. Mary and I, with a little assistants from my doclord, got the sails down and stowed. I dough out the hurricane plan and reviewed it with the mate. The weather looks good for the time I am gone. That will be a blessing for those that would help Mary if there was a storm.

We will be racing at the Twin Ring Motegi race track. For those interested here is a link http://www.motoracing-japan.com/circuit/08_motegi.html Needless to say I am very excided about this. The only drawback is 2-20 hour flights in a week. I will not write this next week, but will fill you in with pictures the following week. I have add a few new pics of the new granddog. He is 9 weeks old and larger then most dogs.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

