jump to navigation

COMING BACK TOGETHER October 15, 2012

Posted by sailingnightwatch in Durbeck, FL, Florida, ICW, Pensacola, Repairs, Restoration, Sailing, Sailing the ICW.
trackback

The boat that is. The heads all work, rebuilt ElectroSan works. I know have 2 spare fresh water pumps, kind of. The bearings are going out in one of the electric motors. I will take it to a small motor shop and see if they can replace the bearings for a reasonable price. If not I will have one spare pump with 2 pump heads. I can live with that. This last Friday I spent rebuilding 2 pumps and fixing the new one. In rebuilding the old pumps the direction say to torque the 4 bolts to 18 lbs. I do not have a torque wrench, so I guess. If the pump maintains its prime, I judge it to be tight enough.

The new 60 psi pump would not hold a prime. I also noticed that the box had water stains in it when I bought it. The pump also had water in it. I believe it had the same problem when someone else bought and installed the pump. I believe it was returned and put on back on the shelf. The problem with it not keeping a prime was that the head had not been tightened enough. I tightened the head tested it and installed it. I am not a big fan of it. At 60 psi, you can use a lot of water. It says it is designed to run at that pressure and allow more then 1 sink to be used at a time. That is a nice feature, but if you are only using 1 sink, it puts out its max amount of water. We are learning to not turn the water on as high as we use to.

Another little nuisance. The new maceator pump on the head seems to have a lighter peace of metal for its mounting plate. This allows the head to rock, not much, but enough to cause insecurity. It is impossible to get thrown off the head because of the narrowness of the area. But if your not use to your john moving, without the boat moving with it. It will mess with your mind.

I am looking forward to looking at getting a Kiss wind generator. Research is underway.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

