jump to navigation

THE BOAT SAILS February 4, 2013

Posted by sailingnightwatch in Durbeck, FL, Florida, ICW, Pensacola, Repairs, Restoration, Sailing, Sailing the ICW.
trackback

She is still trying to break me. After racing and Tennis, the TV went off and was off most of the week. Sunday evening I notice the fwd bilge pump is cycling on. That has the drain for the AC, to cold for AC. The drain from the sink in the forward head. Had not been used in a couple days. And the overflow for the forward water tank. Was not being filled. Not good. It only cycled every hour of so, therefore I decided not to investigate it till Monday night. The boat has an old taft log that was not hooked up when we bought the boat. The through hull is beside the mast and developed a leak around the edge. There was very little water coming in and I found that the plastic nut that keeps it tight had broke in half. I squeezed some calk into the edge and stopped most of the flow. Am in search for a new nut. We will remove the through hull when seal the hole when we are in the yard later this year.

This weekend I sailed down to Juana’s for the Navarre Mardi Gras parade. Sailed with my dock lord beside me all the way down. He kept trying to pass, but just could make it. We were both sailing with reduced sail.

This was the first time I was to the Navarre parade and was pleasantly surprised at how nice it was. Can not believe at my age I still grooble for beads. The Navarre Beach Yacht Club has some fine gumbo and rice and red beans.

Sunday had breakfast and headed home. The wind was light until I was ready to turn into the canal, then it picked up. The second problem, it was dead on the nose all the way. It was a good set up, for my worst landing since I was 12 and drove my M-16 headlong into the pier. This time there was no damage to other peoples piers, boats or anything else except my ego. Oh well, once every 55 years is not bad.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

