jump to navigation

SINKING March 25, 2013

Posted by sailingnightwatch in Durbeck, FL, Florida, ICW, Pensacola, Repairs, Restoration, Sailing, Sailing the ICW.
trackback

Did I mention that we are sinking. Well, not very fast. The compression nut on an old taft log through hull broke and began to seep. The forward bilge pump would go off about every hour and a half. It would pull out maybe half a gallon per cycle. I am scheduled to pull the boat in September and thought it would last till then.

Well that kind of worried me and I got a used nut that we thought would work. This sets down a hole beside the mast step. You can reach it with your arm, but can not see at the same time. There is a nut on top that has to come off to put on the compression nut. It was stuck. I got my large channel locks on it and it turned, but not off the shaft. The whole shaft turned. My flow increased from one and a half hour cycles to ten minute cycles. How long does a bilge pump last. I do not want to know.

A call to Eric, my most trusted boat worker and scheduled a Friday haul out. We hoped for a hour lift setting in the travel lift. Eric had developed plan A – D. He had various nuts, some modified, spacers, he was ready. Plan A went exactly as planed and we were headed back into the water in an hour. Yea Eric!!

Its 3 days later and no leak. I am a happy sailor. We are not sinking.

Comments»

1. baileyboatcat - March 25, 2013

Hooray! Looking forward to following your adventures!


Leave a Reply

