jump to navigation

WHERE WAS I July 1, 2013

Posted by sailingnightwatch in Durbeck, FL, Florida, ICW, Pensacola, Repairs, Restoration, Sailing, Sailing the ICW.
trackback

Jury duty on Monday. Did not get picked. Then I got involved in the week that ended up in a good raft up with the yacht club. Other then jury duty, the week got back to normal with a couple exceptions.

We lost our Ferris wheel on the beach. I went on it twice with out of town guests including the grand daughter. It was something different to do in a very comfortable gondola. I heard two stories of its demise. One it was not making any money. That is a problem and I am sorry if the community did not support it. The other is that the lights distracted the turtles as they head towards the water. I wish those concerned about the turtles would stand out there on the beach, grab the little critters, while shooing away the birds and take them by boat far enough out that the fish that are waiting at the shore do not get the chance to eat them. That should help their survival rate.

Secondly, I ordered a Kiss wind generator. I will install it during the September haul out. We will be taking down the mizzen mast for the installation and replace a VHF antenna and cable. The wind generator will be the last big item before our cruise. We decided to forgo the water maker for at least the first year. They are expensive to buy, install and operate. We can buy a lot of water for that.

Comments»

1. Tim Donley - July 1, 2013

Don’t forget to twist the wires leading from the wind generator….I learned the hard way, I would get a pulse in the VHF transmission from the EMF of the  generator wires, the twist kills the magnetic field. When I changed out the wire I over sized to reduce voltage drop. Tim Donley Stuart, Fl.

________________________________

sailingnightwatch - July 8, 2013

Thanks for the info. I did order oversize wire, but did not think of twisting. I get a clicking sound from my wind instrument. It is just inches from my VHF antenna. The wires are in one cable and would be hard to twist. The supplier say they know of the problem, offered no solutions other then using the antenna on the mizzen or installing a switch to shut down the wind instrument while using the VHF. They were not to concerned. Thanks gain for the input. I will make sure I do that.


Leave a Reply

