jump to navigation

HOT AND NO WIND TILL LATE August 5, 2013

Posted by sailingnightwatch in Durbeck, FL, Florida, ICW, Pensacola, Repairs, Restoration, Sailing, Sailing the ICW.
trackback

That’s about it. We were going out Saturday about 11 am. No wind and low 90’s. Good time to be a power boater. The sea breeze did pick up but it started light in the early afternoon and did not build till 3 pm. The AC felt good.

Saturday we went and bought an iPad. It will be a backup chart plotter. Now I have 2 electronic things that are way smarter then I am. The instruction book, which is on line, is 157 pages long. Hate that. I am not printing 150+ pages to peruse. I like to turn down corners of important pages. I have a yellow marker for the really important stuff. Going back and forth on a computer is really a pain in the ass. The money they saved by not printing the book…,it did not reduce the price one penny. I will suffer through and probably master what I want it to do in a year of so. Like my smart phone.

I talked to someone this weekend who is looking at upgrading to a newer faster smart phone. Perish the thought. A few more milliseconds will not help my old slowing down brain. I have so much stuff on my phone that if I would loose it I would have to think about suicide. I do not even know the Mates phone number. Have not had a land line since the hurricane Ivan and have not missed it. Everybody I know has a phone number in my phone. I have several weather programs and tide tables on it. There is a bunch of other stuff on the home page that came with the phone that I have never used and don’t know how to get rid of. That’s all right, when people see me start my phone and see all those icons, they think I am really with this technology stuff.

Back to the iPad. Now I have to figure out how to get the chart book CD’s onto the iPad. Bluetooth, cloud, something.

I have 7 chart books laying on the settee. We are starting to lay out our cruise. It is fun, the mate is laying out waypoints. It does generate enthusiasm and some anxiety.

I do proof read this thing. Have you ever noticed how it is a series of thoughts that are not tied together. I need to work more on my composition.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

