jump to navigation

GETTING CLOSE September 9, 2013

Posted by sailingnightwatch in Durbeck, FL, Florida, ICW, Pensacola, Repairs, Restoration, Sailing, Sailing the ICW.
trackback

At this time next week I will be pulling into the boat lift. Between now and then there is so much to do. I also have the normal daily projects that the Mate thinks I should do.

I opened the watermaker box Friday and inventoried all the parts and pieces. Now if I was not so good at putting stuff together and figuring out new methods, I would have freaked out. Just looking at it is enough to make you think that I may have stepped in over my head. That was Friday and Saturday morning.

I was thinking this was controlled by flipping a switch on a panel and shazaam you get fresh water. Ah no old wise one. This has one switch and more valves and plumping then an old steam engine. A few weeks ago we had some cruising friends over who have one of these things. When I told him of my install plans he asked where I was putting the thing. When I told him, he gave me this polite interesting look and no comment. He installed his. He knew. He did not want to rune my evening. This thing was going to go quietly under our bed.

Now with Pandora’s box open, my simple controller is about 1 foot square and 9 inches thick. I am use to nice flat controllers with little flat push buttons. This has a charcoal filter 2 valves, a pump, 3 inlets and 1 outlet. You have to be able to control this thing. It is not going under the bed. There are about half a dozen major components and this is not the biggest. The Mate decided she could do away with the hamper and put the controller in its locker. Open the door and there it is. I will be able to fit 2 other components in there. That is good for a Saturday afternoon and Sunday of thinking, measuring and trips to Lowes for things. By the time I get back from the yard, I want it to be ready to be fired up. I will wait till I get to the Tampa area to do that. That is where the supplier is located.

I know I will visit this subject in this blog again.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

