jump to navigation

FALLING BEHIND October 8, 2013

Posted by sailingnightwatch in Durbeck, FL, Florida, ICW, Pensacola, Repairs, Restoration, Sailing, Sailing the ICW.
trackback

All right I am behind on my blog. Remember I have you in training for when I am at sea and cannot send in my blog in a timely manner.

I finally got out of the yard Monday morning. I was to go Thursday, but there was a tropical storm headed our way. I stayed in the yard. It is the safest place if it is a good yard and they can tie down or up the boat, as the case may be. It did rain Sunday. Other then that it was a nonevent. That is good. I have had my hurricane and one is enough.

We continued to do engine work during the extra yard time. Got the heat exchangers cleaned. New bracket made for the heat exchanger. New water hoses. All worked well when we hit the water.

Dirty! If you have ever been in a boatyard, you know the word. The boatyard I use has an auto shredding company as a neighbor to the east. The wind blew from the east all 3 weeks. That dust from the yard and its neighbor gets into every little nook and cranny there is. Since my return I have been cleaning inside and out all day long. I have only the chart table area to finish on the inside. I did the decks this morning. Had to scrub the grease from the mechanics from areas of the deck on my hand and knees. Not fun, the deck is covered with nonskid. Hard on the knees.

Did get 2 sails bent on this afternoon. Still have the main and genoa to go. Those are the biggest and the hardest. Tomorrow. Have to get back to the watermaker one of these days. Also have a couple other big projects to do in the next 6 weeks.

Time is getting short.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

