jump to navigation

FOUR WEEKS November 4, 2013

Posted by sailingnightwatch in Durbeck, FL, Florida, ICW, Pensacola, Repairs, Restoration, Sailing, Sailing the ICW.
trackback

A beautiful weekend for sailors. But not this one. I went to West Marine and partly filled up a shopping cart with stuff. Like the picture on my desk. Plumbing fittings to be used for a fresh water wash down, a switch to replace one that has failed. The last of that type LED lights to make the switch from halogen and incandescent to LED.

I also got a Wifi antenna to help get wifi on the boat while at anchor, we hope. That was yesterday’s after church project. With all the antennas, I am beginning to look like a spy ship. The project went easy with only one mistake I made Saturday. Installed the antenna base on the davit cross support. Fitted the antenna and then realized the mizzen boom would break it off. At least I did not drill a hole in the boat. I did have to drill a hole to get the antenna wire into the boat. The change in location actually turned out perfect. I played with it last night. This neighborhood is not very trustworthy. I must have picked up 20 hot spots and everyone has a password. So I plugged the antenna directly to the computer and picked up my own wifi. At least I know the password for it.

Friday I replace the faucets in the shower. The one there was 35 years old and was beginning to leak no matter how much tape I used or how tight I tightened it. It also had rubber gaskets in it that had to be replace at least yearly. I was happy to get rid of that mess. I could become a plumber. All you need is a pair of channel locks. They give you a tool to use in place of a wrench. I was expecting a half day project and it was a half hour. I did have to make a trip to Lowe’s, but that was my fault. Missed guessed on a fitting size.

All those little pieces of paper under the fittings. Those are notes to myself of things I have to do. I do not know if that is a sign of old age or to much to do. The other side of the desk looks the same. I better get to it.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

