jump to navigation

ANOTHER WEEK GONE November 12, 2013

Posted by sailingnightwatch in Durbeck, FL, Florida, ICW, Pensacola, Repairs, Restoration, Sailing, Sailing the ICW.
trackback

There are less little notes then last week even though the Mate thinks there are as many, just different ones. Major projects are done. Only have a couple mid size one to do. Have the spare anchor stored, the spare line stored, the spare power cables stored. I have most of the spare consumables for the engines on board and stored. You notice how I keep using the term stored. That is becoming a problem. Or the lack of storage space.

Already I am loosing things. Today it took me a while to find a paper plate for lunch. I have also lost a vice. This is not one of those little cheep light ones, this is a 40 pounder that was my fathers. I have looked in all my usual places to no avail. I am only allotted so many places for tools and spares. I have a place for electrical, plumbing, tools, and spare parts. This thing is the size of about 4 loves of bread. If you would kick it you would break your foot. How can that disappear. I do need to find it. I know it is not in the Mates places because I would hear about it being in her space and how it would have to be moved NOW.

I have continued to plot our courses and have us to the Keys. A friend was over this morning and he sails to south Florida every year. We discussed good anchorages, places to be extra careful and good restaurants. Time well spent.

Well back to work. Maybe I will bump into a vise.

Comments»

1. Tim Donley - November 17, 2013

Ralph,
On our boat as I loaded lockers I keep a schematic of the locker(s) as a sketch drawing a bubble or rectangle in the approximate location with writing in the space of what is there. When I consumed or moved to another location I edit the sketch accordingly. Nothing fancy, it just worked for me and saved a lot of grief.
Tim Donley
Stuart, FL

sailingnightwatch - November 18, 2013

Tim

My accounting mate has a book she is keeping. I happened to move the vice and forgot to tell her. I had put it under the starboard settee, all the way forward. This boat has the bulkhead moved forward which makes that space small and odd shaped. Like a vise. Meant for each other. She has already loaded the rest of the space. Hope I do not need it any time soon.

Any ideas for a staging place toward the southern end of Biscayne Bay to rest before heading for Gun Cay? Loaded we are probably 6 foot draft. Keep ideas coming. I need all the help I can get.

Ralph
SV Nightwatch


Leave a Reply

