jump to navigation

COLD November 21, 2016

Posted by sailingnightwatch in Caribbean, Durbeck, FL, Florida, Pensacola, Repairs, Restoration, Sailing, Sailing the ICW.
trackback

I have never been one that likes or tolerates cold well. This morning it was 46 degrees. I know those of you in Canada are thinking what a wosse. I have not been in this cold for 2 years and 11 months. 70 is cold. This was ridicules. I have a light weight jacket and 3 sweat shirts. Total winter wardroom. I do have a heavy off shore foul weather jacket. I may have to dig it out, but tomorrow will be back up into the high 60’s. That will be good because I have to fuel up.

Planning to head to my son’s for Thanksgiving. Will leave Wednesday morning. It is to be in the low 70’s. I will survive. It is about a 5 hour trip. We should have 10 to 15 kts. to begin with but dying out during the afternoon. That works out well because the last half of the trip I have to go through 5 bridges. 3 are opening bridges, 2 with bridge tenders that open late and close early. If you are not waiting at the appointed time, you will wait till the next lift. I understand their plight. Either let the poor yachties wait of face the drive-bys. I too would lean toward the car drivers.

Did the last touches on the wood repairs today. That is done. The work is fun, but the polyurethane takes a while to age and match the color of the older wood.

Was checking out the nav equipment this afternoon and the GPS is not showing up. Will track down the wiring and insure all is still tight. The GPS is part of the wind instrument. All the other functions work, but the GPS. So it is back under the bed to check out the wiring going to the controller.

After the Autopilot system was all hooked up and running, the water maker tech was under the bed replacing the Clark Pump. We have not been out since he left. I hope it is something like a loose wire. I did check one of the main wires bundles for the auto pilot and it fell off its connection. It was hanging together and was still working till I touched it and it fell off in my hand. . That was OK, easy fix. I hope the finding of the wire goes as well. It could get complicated.

Have a great Thanksgiving. Have fun at black Friday.

Comments»

1. Jane and Bernie - November 22, 2016

Happy Thanksgiving! I don’t “observe” Black Friday. Have made it a lifetime commitment.


Leave a Reply

